Q: Why is DTC considered the best local driving school?
A: Based on student and state police examiner comments, DTC far exceeds other local schools for the following
1) The quality instruction given to our students gives them the highest passing percentage for their license exam
2) Our recent model - 4 star safety rated vehicles shows the pride DTC has in its business
3) DTC has been in business for over 20 years and has the highest level of both experience and expertise for handling the needs of nearly ever student.
4) DTC is one of the only 6 Massachusetts schools that have been awarded a Four Star (highest) rating by the Professional Driver Education of MA.
5) DTC classroom facilities are state-of-the-art with the latest interesting curriculum, a digital projector and a full 9 foot theatre screen.
6) DTC never short-changes students for the required hours of classroom,driving and observation. Unfortunately, several local schools are guilty of these practices.
7) Timely driving lessons and the quickest possible license test have given DTC a well deserved reputation for treating students right
8) “The best service at the best price” is our motto and DTC proves it every day.
9) DTC's owner, Michael Towle, has had over 30 years experience in teaching driver education and managing a driving school. He has Masters Degrees in both secondary education and public administration.
10) Mr. Towle is the only former P.D.E.A. president to receive the award of outstanding President. He has been
appointed by a MA. governor to be on the Governor's Highway Safety Bureau. He has made television appearances several times on both Fox 25 TV and WCVB's Chronicle. He is also an active lobbyist for driver education
at the State House.
Q: Why shouldn't I take a computer-based driver's ed. course that many driver ed. websites sell?
A: There are many websites that sell home / computer base courses. These courses are a complete waste of time and money. The Massachusetts RMV will not accept any of these toward a Massachusetts driver education certificate. Most, if not all, information provided on these "presumed" acceptable courses will be taught by a Massachusetts licensed driving school. In fact, you will receive the best, most comprehensive and interesting course available from the Driver Training Center... guaranteed.
Q: How long will it take me to obtain my license?
A: If you are under 18 years of age, the Massachusetts law requires you to have a learner's permit for six months before being able to take a license test. The law of Massachusetts also requires (if you are under 18 years of age) you have to take drivers ed in order to obtain a driver's license. If you begin early enough, you should be able to obtain your license in record time.
Q: What do I need to know about obtaining a Massachusetts class D learner's permit?
A: Once you turn 16, you can obtain a learner's permit. Learner's permits are obtained at RMV offices only. Appointments are not necessary. Arrivals at the RMV should be after 9 a.m. & Mon-Fri only. There is a $30 testing fee and appropriate identification is required (such as a social security card). Go to LINKS for a connection to the RMV and the latest permit information. DON'T FORGET! In order to pass the test, 14 of 20 questions must be correctly answered and your vision will also be checked
Q: How soon should I begin drivers education?
A: Massachusetts law allows teenagers to begin classroom instruction at 15 years and 9 months. The earlier you begin, the earlier you will have your license.
Q: How do I register for the course?
A: There are two ways to register. Call DTC at (781) 762-5500 or e-mail us ( mjtowle101 @ yahoo.com )
Q: What is included in the driver ed. course?
A: Massachusetts law requires that the course include 30 hours of classroom instruction, 12 hours of behind-the-wheel training, and 6 hours of student observation. DTC offers he most interesting and comprehensive course available
Q: When are classroom sessions scheduled?
A: Courses are scheduled at various times and locations. Go to the location of your choice on this website for the particulars. Advanced registration will guarantee you a seat. Don't be left out!
Q: Are 6 hours of observation hours really required?
A: Yes! Schools that do not do this legal requirement could be closed by the Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Please call DTC at (781) 762-5500 during our office hours of 2:00-5:00 p.m. (M-F) or leave a message
at any time. Please repeat your phone number twice. DTC will return your call.